top of page
Search

Getting to know you!

Hello Pre-K friends. I would like to welcome you to our Pre-K weekly blog. At the end of each week. I will be sending you a blog with all the activities and adventures our class has experienced. Sharing this with your child is great way to engage your child in conversation about school.


Before I share about the amazing week we have had. I would like to share a little bit about my self. This is the start of my third year at Roycemore School. I started two years ago as the Extended Day Teacher for the Early Childhood children. With some moving around of faculty. I began my adventure as the Pre-K teacher. Although I am pretty new to Roycemore. I am not new to early childhood. I have been celebrating children's lives for nearly 45 years. I started my career working in a daycare center in high school. And my love for watching children grow and learn and has continued from there. I worked at a college demonstration center training students to work with children. I worked for over 20 years at the Gymboree play program. I was the director of a Parent cooperative play school here in Evanston for 22 years. And so much more in between. I am now so happy to be part of the Roycemore family. With the help from Mr. Bailey. Who has been part of the Roycemore family for over 8 years. We are looking forward to making this school year a safe and memorable experience for your children.


Enough about me. Let's move on to your amazing children. This week. We talked about the importance of social distancing, wearing masks, hand washing, hand washing and more hand washing. While doing this we had so much fun!


Along with the importance of safety. This week has been all about getting to know each other, learning the routines, navigating the classroom, feeling comfortable and most of all having fun.

I am looking forward to sharing about your children with you. And thank you for allowing me to give your children an amazing place to learn and play and a safe experience.


Enjoy the pictures and remember to share these with your children and let them tell you about their friends and whats happening.


Meet the Pre-K class.

Left to right. Trip, Gabe, Frances, Jane, Teryn, Ela, Lambert, Shanaya, Teo, Maya, and Elvin.


Fun in the classroom


Enjoying the outdoors.

We share our time between the Roycemore playground. And Alexander Park located behind the school.



Inside large motor fun.


Pre-K Specials


PE class (Physical Education). With Coach B and Coach Long.

In PE this week we played noodle tag, sorted balls in hoops and exercised our bodies. Check out the PE action video on the Pre-K face book page.


French class with Madame.

During French class with the help of a monkey we learned the words bonjour (hello) and au revoir (goodbye). Video on the Pre-K facebook page.


Art class with Mrs. Lorenz

In art this week we read the story LOTS of DOTS and started a dot collage. next week we will continue.


Art class with Ms. Redmann.

In music class we learned a rhyming name song. And explored the different instruments we will have the opportunity to use.

Video from music class on the Pre-K Facebook page.


Library time with Miss Hilda.

During our library time. The children have the chance to check out a book and bring it home. Please read together and return to school before the next Friday. They will then pick another.


We celebrated our first birthday on Friday. Jane turned 3 !


Happy Birthday Jane.

Thank you to Jane's family for bringing in the yummy cupcakes. They were enjoyed by all.

If you choose to bring in treats to share whether for a birthday or just for fun. They must be store bought, in a sealed package and labeled peanut free. They do sell treats labeled school safe.




I hope everyone has enjoyed this sneak peek into your child's day. Please watch for this to come out at the end of each week. Also if you have not seen the Pre-K Facebook page check it out (Roycemore Pre-K 2021-22). I try to add something to that daily.


Save The Date.

On Thursday September 2nd Roycemore will have a Virtual Curriculum Night (5:30-8:30pm)


Again thank you for allowing me to have a great week with your children.







157 views0 comments
bottom of page